The Big Brew

I think this is a great new logo for the Alzheimers Tea Day. 

As far as I recall this used to be sponsored by Lyons who re thought their Charity strategy a few years back and launched the Lyons Charity Giveaway this year. I wonder how that is going for them, have they found it has been a better approach for them to support more charities rather than one (which actually seems to be the opposite direction to other organisations in terms of charitable giving) ?

I would be interested in hearing how the Alzheimers Tea Day goes this year and if having no sponsor has led to more freedom in what they were able to do with the campaign or restricted them in terms of spend to promote it?

I found this on Ask Direct and you can sign up for The Big Brew here (a nice site that starts with a story, well done)

10 thoughts on “The Big Brew

  1. Conor, Unrelated to post but….

    not sure if you are familiar with Bob Stone? He is an author and well-rated DM guy. Anyway, just read something from him on fundraising – if you ask for a specific amount in a campaign, you’ll raise much more. Is this your experience?

  2. I actaully wouldn’t totall agree with that, but then I don’t have research to back it up. In my experience I find that people get lost with big numbers, especially with grassroots fundraising. If you tell people you need to raise 2million to build this new facility they will wonder…well how is my 10 euro going to make that happen. Or if you are trying to reach a goal, telling people where you are can actually put them off, they will think you dont need their support now.

    I think its fine to talk about those big numbers in general terms and let people know you have big goals for your charity, but to engage the lower donor amounts I think you need to demonstrate what those small amounts will do. You will notice that all the DRTV for charities like NSPCC and Concern are looking for low amounts and dont talk about big numbers. Would be interested in reading his piece.

  3. Conor

    Not related also! But would be interested in your view on the flip side of CSR… i.e. businesses starting up ethically from the outset. An example of been banging on about since I read it two weeks ago in the Irish Times magazine is Toms shoes (www.tomsshoes.com). Really great idea that started with the whole reason for why this business started.

    Have a read and if you find anymore of these types of businesses… write about them!

  4. Elaine,
    Thanks for the comment. You know I think thats a really interesting question you have raised and I can’t think of too many companies that have started where the idea is to start ethically, http://www.responsibletravel.com and http://www.ammado.com spring to mind, can I include the Red Prodcuts in that list too? not sure. There must be more and I will look into that in the coming days, so keep an eye out for more on that.

    The one thing I would say is that product/service is key. People won’t buy a product or use a service just because it is going to do some good somewhere. So your example of Toms Shoes is a great one, this is a great product (I plan on buying a pair now). The point, which they have got, is that you need to be providing something that is quality, the fact that it is helping is of added value. I liken it to the whole Charity CD phenomena, people dont buy Charity CD’s because they want to help the cause, they want to listen to what is on it first and foremost (eg Amnesty’s Instant Karma) the bonus is its benefiting a great cause. So yes I think its great to start ethically from the outset, but dont rely on it to make your business a success, if your product is bad, people will soon stop buying from you.

  5. Pingback: TOMS Shoes « Conor’s Fundraising Blog

  6. conor, patagonia have always been right from the start. So have howies clothes. I’ll dig up some info for you. Elaine has been talking about tom shoes all week…:)

  7. Conor, on the first post about a specific amount. I meant asking for say €100 or €50 instead of just asking for whatever you can afford. Agree with you on your comment.

  8. Elaine is right to talk about them all week, they are great. Its interesting though that we cant think of that many companies that have started off this way. Send me the info you have and I’ll do more research

  9. Paul, I get what you mean now about the specific amount, yes that really does help a campaign. If you give people an idea well then they dont need to think about what is the right amount. There are always options for more or less but the main ask is X. You will notice that those TV spots I spoke about tend to never go over 7 euro a month.

  10. Pingback: Every Click « Conor’s Fundraising Blog

Leave a Reply

