Is this the greatest fundraising mantra?


image courtesy of i5prof

I was reassured recently that the greatest mantra a fundraiser can have in their armour is, Don’t give up.

A friend was talking to me about getting their organisation involved in helping kids in the area where their office is located. They weren’t planning on raising money instead they wanted to help the kids to raise their skill levels.

I asked why his organisation hadn’t done this before, I thought perhaps they didn’t have the resources or maybe he was going to tell me that they felt the time was right now to give back (all good answers). But the answer he gave shocked me a little. The organisation had wanted to do this for a long time, but one senior executive was blocking the plans, he just didn’t see the value. He has left now.

So as you go out there with your proposals for support, remember never to give up, it may not be you, it could simply be the organisation has internal issues that wont allow them support you, at the moment. Try find out if that is the case, or what is the case, ask why they cant support you now (of course be nice about it). 

I remember putting in a pitch for charity of the year a few years back and wasn’t successful, instead of saying ah well that sucks, I called  the company in question and asked if I could meet with them so they could let me know where i went wrong. And they did. And I learnt lots about my presentation/proposal and my own organisation. This made my future pitches a lot better. It is a worthwhile strategy, you will get really valuable information

Then stay in touch, dont harass, but let the organisation know you are still there, a newsletter every 6 months would work. Then when the time is right you will be well positioned to be considered for their support.

So remember sometimes, its not you, so dont give up

3 thoughts on “Is this the greatest fundraising mantra?

  1. I fully agree that in order to be a successful fund raiser, you should be habituated and prepared to listen to NO while on the job of collecting funds.

  2. This is a good point. I think it may be human nature to take rejections personally, when many times it has nothing to do with you at all. If their priorities are truly a match with yours, then maybe the timing just isn’t right for them. You can still maximize the relationship you have with them by keeping in touch and getting their input on different decisions or dilemmas your organization is going through. Develop a relationship until the time that ‘no’ turns into a ‘yes’.

  3. THIS IS THE ONLY MANTRA TO BE SUCCESSFUL IN ANY PART OF THE WORLD FOR FUNDRAISING

Leave a Reply

