Involved Vs Committed

I’ve just started following Dave Trott on twitter (here). On Monday he tweeted about his latest blog post about knowing the difference between being involved and being committed and I thought the first part of his post was relevant to our sector.

He wrote:

There’s a difference between involvement and commitment.

If we’re merely ‘involved’ in something then we don’t have to give it our all.

If it fails, it’s not the end of the world.

But if we’re ‘committed’ that’s a different matter.

Then it really is do or die.

We’ve got a lot more at stake.

It’s very important to know the difference.

I think it’s really important that we determine if our donors are involved or committed. We can probably ask a lot more of or expect more of those that are really committed. I know that I am really committed to one particular organisation, I’d pretty much do anything for them, I’d hate to ever see them fail. I don’t think I ever thought about the distinction before but wouldn’t it be great for them to know that I’m one of their committed supporters. They could probably guess this by looking at how long I’m involved and how I’m engaged, but they could always ask me, I’d be happy to let them know I’m one of their Raving Fans!

One thought on “Involved Vs Committed

  1. Committed and Involved in an Irish Breakfast….the chicken is involved, the pig is committed!!!

Leave a Reply

