Tap N Give

I often get asked do I think people will donate through their iPhone….and to be honest Im really not sure. Would I download an application so I could donate to charity. I think I’m yet to be convinced. Tap N Give were in touch and think they have an application that will work, they say its “an innovative iPhone and iPod Touch application that makes it easy to instantly donate to charities that are making a positive impact. Currently Tap-n-Give features four charities that are working diligently to make a difference”

Here are some screen grabs that show how it all works. I think the fact that you have to pay for the application is a major flaw, and Im still to be convinced if someone would want a donation application on their phone. What do you think?

4 thoughts on “Tap N Give

  1. Hey Conor,

    I agree with you that I don’t think many people at all would specifically want an app that simply allows you to donate. Like most forms of fundraising I think it would work better if the donor gets something out of it, even if it’s just entertainment. They’ve touched off it here by giving a wallpaper for your phone, but that’s probably not enough (although, perhaps a large number of people are in to buying phone wallpaper where I wouldn’t be…even I would be tempted by the SPCA picture).

    What I’d like to see are more innovative novelty apps like iHobo or charity apps that have a stronger connection and relevance to what the users are doing in real life. For example, an app that locates charity projects near your current location and encourages you to give to the charity operating it. Or an app that gives you discounts in nearby shops/restaurants once you donate to their chosen charity.

    • Hi Simon

      Thanks, Yeh I’m just not sold on a donate only app, and one you have to pay for. It would be great if it did something else, is there a fear that people donate for what they get after as opposed to the donation? Don’t think we know what works yet. Interesting one to keep an eye on though

  2. Hi Conor
    My iPhone is one of the greatest things that I have ever purchased and I am now reading the paper, e-mailing, facebooking, buying music and surprising myself by buying music and lots of apps. Prior to the iPhone, would only have done these online at my desk. Feel that the iPhone has change so many things. This idea is timely. Having to pay for it however is a mistake and I feel it would work really well if launched at the time of an emergency and there was an active follow up etc around it.
    Thanks

    • Hi Niamh,
      thanks for the comment, I agree its a shame you have to pay for it, I also agree its a timely app. I just wonder how often I would check into an app like this, when, lets face it, its asking me to give every time I do…what would drive me there? Will be interested to hear their results

Leave a Reply

