11 thoughts on “UNICEF – 1 euro campaign

  1. Hi Conor

    I really don’t like it. I got the email on Friday and, as a donor, it actually made me quite angry. I don’t have a problem with the use of humour in a fundraising campaign – and employed correctly it can be hugely effective – but there’s certain things you don’t joke about, and one of them is your donors’ generosity. I’m actually flabbergasted that this went out to Unicef donors.

    Leave aside the humour, and what you have is a bunch of wealthy individuals hectoring the donor for not giving €1 – a donor who will have previously donated significantly more than €1 to Unicef.

    On top of that, it relies almost exclusively on guilt as a motivator for action. And that is not a recipe for building donor loyalty or long term relationships with donors. It is not a satisfying emotion for donors to feel, and can turn donors away from you over time.

    It’s a great pity, because there are other aspects of the campaign that are quite good. The banner of Giovanni Trapatoni hanging at the Millennium Bridge, for instance, is actually quite inspiring. But the video above is awful.

    I fear this campaign will backfire on them. I think it will damage invaluable relationships with donors and lose them supporters. And I don’t think it will come close to raising the money they hope to raise.

    • Thanks for the comment Damian….you make some really good points. I think they could have had a lot of fun with this…even saying just one more euro and we are there could have been a better approach?

  2. Hmmmm,

    I’m going to have to disagree with you on this occasion Damien.

    I too am a UNICEF donor and was impressed and inspired by the e-mail, which I understand they sent to anyone they had an email address for.

    I didn’t interpret it as trying to guilt me into a donation, rather that it demonstrated what a huge impact my one euro could make – in a humorous tounge in cheek kind of way.

    I love that they turned the use of the personalised video on it’s head – as we’re all familiar with that technique being used for a thank-you – and especially loved the use of multiple patrons for maximum effect.

    Perhaps as practioners we are a little bit more surprised/sceptical of the tack they’ve taken than a regular donor would be?

    The proof will be in the results, which I hope we get to hear. If it does fall short of it’s ambitious target, perhaps that will be more a reflection of timing (pre-budget in a recession) and the short duration of the campaign than the proposition?

    Time will tell I guess!

    We’ve seen these personalised

    • Thanks for the comment Dee, great to get a different perspective on it.

      This part of the campaign certainly has people talking! I think so many elements of it are brilliant. I do think they could have given the same message just tweaking the angle they took, it’s only one tweet but in my post you can see how it made one donor feel. I think there certainly could be something in what you are saying about us being a bit skeptical or cynical!

      I really really hope they share the results with us. They have, sadly, been very slow to engage in the conversation so far.

      I would think that with the low ask of this campaign that pre-budget/recession can’t be a reason for it not to work. It’s a euro, that’s not an amount you really think about in terms of giving (most charity icon campaigns are 2euros) neither can the short time frame, in fact I think that’s a positive thing, short sharp focus.

      The overall execution of this is good (it’s everywhere) and it seems the smartest thing they did was get jedward involved! (seriously their fans are talking loudly about this!)

      Having said all that my concern remains my concern. And I hope someone from UNICEF Ireland will engage with us. All our tweets, bar one from Canada, went ignored yesterday.

      Was it you Dee that tweeted yesterday….to put out a social media fire you need to use social media water!

  3. Woops! Suspected I’d left an extra line of text in there at the end by accident – on an iPhone, apologies.

    And muchos apologies Damian, I know it’s Damian not Damien – spell check auto-corrected it! (incorrect spelling & pronunciation of names is a pet peeve)

  4. Hey Conor,

    I really liked it because it was personalised…personalised is great!

    But I showed it to a few people and they all said the same thing – that it was guilt and just made them feel bad about themselves rather than motivating to give.

    My thinking is that they could have made more of it essentially having the same concept with a positive spin, i.e. a news report which celebrated the person who gave that final €1 (you!) and here are all these celebrities saying how great you are at what a massive impact your one Euro had (even though they hadn’t made that donation…yet).

    Obviously people might not go on to make that donation so Jedward might be celebrating for no reason, but still…you get what I mean.

    I think I was more impressed by the massive posters in town. Fantastic.

    • I meant to also point out that the people showed it to were not ‘in the biz’…just random punters (eg. my mum)

    • Thanks for the comment Simon, seems to be the general feeling about the campaign. I do hope they make lots from this and then maybe build on it next year taking these comments on board (if they are listening?)

  5. Hi Conor
    I was sent the video with my name on it, this certainly made me watch it and I like that angle on it. It has an impressive line up of celebrity supporters as well so you do watch it to the end but this is where myself and some colleagues I showed it to lost interest…it’s too long, the ask needs to be sooner and I would have suggested a more ‘appealing’ appeal in that they can name the personalised person as responsible but emphasise how you probably forgot or were too busy and how it’s not too late, do it now etc. They went down a more “you’re a horrible person for not donating” route and it’s interesting but in honesty at the end of the video, I did not text to donate and felt absolutely no guilt about not donating.
    For me it was just an interesting and new way to issue an appeal so I would love to know how well it goes for them…great concept, perhaps some glitches in the messaging tone?!

    Joanna

    • Hi Joanna, think you are spot on, Its interesting, different and in so many ways really great, perhaps the tone is a little off

  6. The logic of this campaign is completely flawed… I’m being asked to believe that the difference between 999,999 euro and I million is significant.. and I just don’t believe it. The extra euro makes a difference of one ten thousandth of one percent of the total raised… yes an ocean is made of drops but this campaign serves to emphasise the ocean compared to which the drop is nothing. Am I to believe that 1 million is some form of tipping point .. sorry but I don’t.
    Also the email reads like spam. Not good if you want to get people to click on it. Who is ‘Lisa’ who sent me this. Sixnews.net sounds like a dodgy domain. The email should have come from UNICEF and linked to, for example. an rte.ie page.
    My last donation to UNICEF was what I consider a considerable amount. This campaign I find offensive. Maybe the good work that UNICEF do will get me past that offence when I next want to donate, or maybe I’ll give the money to someone else.

    Shane

Leave a Reply

