Ryanair’s Cause-Washing

It’s that time of year again when Ryanair launches their “charity” calendar.

I’m not a fan.

It’s not so much the fact that it’s a bikini clad model product, sure nude calendars raised a small fortune for charity and even made it to Hollywood! I would question however why charities in the children space would engage with Ryanair.

My main gripe with it is that, in my opinion, this has absolutely NOTHING to do with charity.

The PR machine behind this makes it sound great for charities, you would be led to believe Ryanair cares. If they cared then why aren’t the charities even mentioned on the calendar? If they cared why do the charities have to sell thousands of calendars themselves.

I would question if Ryanair absorb the costs of printing the calendar.

In my opinion this is a cynical ploy by Ryanair to garner publicity, to try and look like an organisation that cares. This isn’t part of a CR strategy. This is driven by PR. This has, in my opinion, nothing to do with charity.

Sorry Ryanair, I for one am not buying it (or the calendar)

4 thoughts on “Ryanair’s Cause-Washing

  1. Not bikinis. Eastern European Girls in their underwear. Who might be stewardesses on your next flight to Estonia. Or Manchester.

    That is all.

  2. I totally agree with you Conor …

Leave a Reply

