Barbie & Content Marketing

Did you ever think that connection would be made!

In my house Barbie is adored (along with Peppa, Rapunzel, Aladdin & Jasmin, big doggy and teddy!). And its not just my two and a half year daughter that loves Barbie, her mum is pretty into it too, my nieces and nephews are keen on it as well.

What has struck me lately is how brililant Barbie is at Content Marketing. Mattel have created some brilliant content on youtube, short 3 minute videos that pretty much showcase their product range. It’s all done really well though, the pieces are humourous and engaging. There is no hard sell, they don’t need to do that, but they keep Barbie top of mind. As a parent this content can help me out, so instead of having to watch a long cartoon or programme I can get away with a short 3 min Barbie video. It makes me feel good about the brand. My daughter isnt demanding a new Barbie everytime she sees one of these videos but it does make her want to play with her Barbie so the next time its time for a treat she may well choose Barbie (she may also well choose a big ball – who knows!).

It may seem surprising that Barbie is a queen of content, but when you think about it, it makes sense. This is one of the only pieces of content I am aware of, but I am sure there is a huge Content Marketing strategy in Mattel I am yet to stumble across!

And now to brigten up your Friday – here is a short piece about Barbies life in the dream house – enjoy!! (if i have to watch it you do too!)

Leave a Reply

